Harry Potter and the Cursed Child Review

Rating: 4/5
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story (and seems to be the final one) in the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. The Cursed Child is unique in several ways, almost a decade wait, in stage production/ Script format which is completely different style when compared to other books in Harry Potter series. I had pre-ordered my copy as soon it was available and spends days counting down for my most anticipated book’s arrival.
A lot has happened in nineteen years for Harry is now an overworked employee of Ministry of Magic, a husband and a father of 3 kids. Hermione to works for Ministry of Magic while Ron runs Weasley’s Wizard Wheezes. The story basically revolves around Harry’s third son Albus and Draco’s son Scorpius and it is this pair that brings magic in this book. I particularly loved Scorpius character which may be a surprise coming from Malfoy family but it isn’t the first time a Malfoy surprised everyone is it? The story unfolds where it left off at Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, The King’s Cross Platform 9 3/4 where Harry is to drop off his two boys James and Albus (it’s his first year in Hogwarts) along with Ginny, their daughter Lily at Hogwarts Express.
Now back to my review unlike many disappointed HP fans I have to admit that I really loved the book especially the script format. I would love to see play out in stage. But deep inside I really wish J.K. Rowling writes the story and release a book which is a closure very much required for the series and for its fans. Okay now I got to admit I have mixed feelings regarding this book being different from the rest of the series. I also missed the element of surprise unlike other book in series in discovering the villain which let me down a bit.
Overall it was great to have a chance to meet characters with who I grew up and picking up this book made me feel like a kid again and that is what makes this book so special overshadowing all it flaws.
Get your copy at Amazon today!
Leave a Reply

